The Swansea Bus Museum contains several elements of Llanelli’s transport heritage. In particular it has a now-unique single deck AEC Regent V, which was one of only eight ever made that were specifically designed to pass under the low bridges in the New Dock area of Llanelli.
282 DWN is the sole survivor and was acquired from the National Museum of Wales storage area at Nantgarw in early 2011. For more information on this bus click here. It is now almost ready to once again take the road and the plan is to have it attending events in the Llanelli area in the very near future.
In addition, the former South Wales Transport depot (now First Cymru) in Robinson Street Llanelli, maintained their vehicles to a very high standard so it is to their credit that the all the current running SWT AEC Regents of the 1950s and 60s that we have in our collection were homed in Llanelli for much of their working life.
This 56 seater Bristol KSW with Eastern Coachworks body was new to Eastern National of Essex in 1953. It was converted to open top in 1965 and used in Southend until damaged in an accident in 1974. It was subsequently bought by South Wales Transport, repaired using parts from another bus and then used on the new Limeslade service in 1975. This vehicle is extremely popular with wedding parties.
Reproduced by kind permission of Swansea Bus Museum
This open top bus is used by Llanelli Community Heritage for 'Town Tours'.